The Cafe Guide, pt. 1

(Before we begin, here’s a Link to The Cafe Map)

It’s that time.

I guarantee that most of my money has gone towards coffee and pastries in the past two months, so I feel very justified and confident about my ability to make a guide to cafes in Copenhagen.

This post will be a beautiful little list of all the great places I’ve been to so far — so you, dear reader, have access to the best stuff in town. I’m conveniently breaking this guide up by Copenhagen neighborhoods as well, so you know exactly where these lovely spots are. 

Thank me later.

Islands Brygge

This westerly part of Amager is where I live. It’s a more recently developed area, full of families and cute dogs. If you find yourself hopping around the east side of the canal, there are some treats awaiting you.

  • Wulff and Konstali: An astoundingly scrumptious brunch awaits you here. You could just go for the tasty coffee, but as soon as you enter I guarantee you’ll be enticed by the rest of the menu. If you go for brunch, you order multiple little plates of food, offering a convenient solution to the age old question “do I want something sweet or savory?” There’s also a location in Nørrebro, but I think the Brygge location has a special charm.
  • Andersen Bakery: Hit up Andersen if you want some fancy pastries. When I went, I just got a cardamom bun and a latte. And that was great. But they also have a glass case filled with more artisanal items that look both extremely delicate and extremely scrumptious. It’s a great spot to chill out for a bit with a yummy, homemade snack.

Indre By (the Inner City)

I go to school in this area, so you just know I’ve been rambling up and down the streets and stopping at every coffee shop I see for the past eight weeks. I’ve covered quite a bit of ground, but I have no plans to be overwhelming. That’s why I’m breaking up my guide into a few posts. I’ll offer a look into a few of my faves from this neighborhood here.

  • The Living Room: I went here on the first day that I visited DIS’s Student Hub. It still sticks out to me as one of my favorite lunch places. They have the classic array of coffee as well as a cool list of smoothies. Their avocado and hummus toast is so scrumptious and makes me feel like I’ve finally spent my money on food that fills me up (sorry, pastries).  The atmosphere truly looks like a cozy living room, with a cute little basement area full of comfy chairs and couches.
  • Buzz Kaffebar: This lil’ spot has a bright interior, a perfect contrast to the gloomy fall and winter weather. They offer a solid array of yummy lunch foods on top of their pastry selection. It’s on a street corner, which means plenty of windows to sit at and do work. Definitely would recommend this place to people who need a place to chill in between classes. 
  • Democratic Coffee: This spot is connected to the public library, so I love coming here to get a coffee during a long paper-writing sesh. They have a tiny selection of pastries, but this spot is much more about the coffee and atmosphere than food. Shoutout for the Københavns Høvedbibliotek — I love sitting in this library so much; people watching is absolutely immaculate here. Plenty of seating to chill at, and a great selection of English-language books to boot!

Nørrebro

Much like Indre By, I have far too many recommendations in Nørrebro to fit into one post. So I’m offering three recommendations to start. This area is my favorite place in Copenhagen, because it’s so gosh darn cool. And their cafes live up to the vibes.

  • Andersen and Maillard: This place is highly renowned for its delicious baked goods. You’ve got to come here for immaculate vibes and a beautiful breakfast bite. I got a loaf of their homemade bread to use for my dinner once. Definitely some of the best bread I’ve ever eaten. Also, Andersen and Maillard is located right across the street from the stunning Assistens Cemetery, if you feel like taking a walk while drinking your cappuccino.
  • Kaf: I just stumbled across Kaf with my friend while we strolled around the Nørrebro. It’s a hip, slightly hidden spot that’s a few steps underground. Once you hop down into the space, there’s a very communal and cozy room awaiting your presence. I got this thing called a “croissant wave,” which was literally just a croissant in an extremely wavy formation. Immaculate. \
  • Cafe Mellemrummet: This cafe is attached to a hostel. It is completely run by volunteers, so make sure to be extra nice when you come in for a coffee. It’s got a great hip atmosphere. I actually got a hot chocolate from this establishment, and I’d highly recommend a delicious cup on a cold day.

Chains

This isn’t an area of Copenhagen. It’s just a section for the chain coffee shops that you’ll find running through the entirety of the city.

  • Emmery’s: This is my favorite chain for a few reasons. Number one, they offer coffee cards which means 10 coffees of your choice for a lower price than normal. Who doesn’t love a deal? They also offer the best pastry selection, in my opinion. Their pain au chocolat is something I dream about often. Also, they have a super convenient location 1 block away from DIS Student Hub. Hallelujah! Makes my 8:30 classes a little more manageable.
  • Espresso House: The Espresso Houses are maybe more plentiful than the rain in Copenhagen. I feel like every other street I turn onto, BOOM. Another one. Here, the iced lattes are definitely larger than average — and they use crushed ice. Kinda fun. They also offer a pretty good selection of more hearty sandwiches if you need some lunch.
  • Joe and the Juice: Maybe the most well known chain to come out of Denmark, this cafe has even made its way to major cities in the U.S. This is where you want to go if you’re sick of the ridiculous amount of coffee and croissants you’ve consumed. The juices are simple and fresh, and they feel like a burst of energy for your body. I’ve never had a sandwich from Joe, but they look pretty good too.

Alrighty everyone. Go out there and enjoy responsibly!

All the best,

Caffeinated Ava

2 responses to “The Cafe Guide, pt. 1”

  1. Martha Land Avatar
    Martha Land

    I want to go to every one of these places! You’re descriptions make them come alive.

    Like

  2. kaymckinney301 Avatar
    kaymckinney301

    I love the description of each place – you made them come alive. I can almost taste the coffees and pastries. Yum.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started